PDA

View Full Version : Kids and Rent

C.Fisher
12-11-2007, 06:37 AM
Alright guys I need some imput.
A close friend let his girlfriend and 2 kids move in with him. One is 19 the other is 21. Both boys have graduated school, one flunked out of college the 1st year and the 21 year old boy has no direction in life aside from playing in band. They are both able bodied and pay nothing to my friend or there mom to help with living expenses. Both boys have lived with him for over a year now and do nothing to help him around the house.
I am trying to talk to my friend about charging the boys rent. I know I had to pay rent once I graduated and still lived with my parents. We are throwing numbers around and figure that 150/month from each kid would be fair. Where else could they live for 150 month that included room, board, food, ect.
Whats your all thoughts?

ratso
12-11-2007, 06:56 AM
...bare minimum of 150

ratso
12-11-2007, 06:57 AM
...including helping around the house. If they are lazy pieces of shit, then at least double it for being their maid.

jdogginla
12-11-2007, 06:58 AM
A month after graduating high school, my parents came to me and said if you aren't going to college and going to be a student you will be paying rent. I paid $500 a month and moved out about 2 months later. This was in 1990. My sister paid that rent til she was 24.
Making them pay 100 bux a month is a joke......

2forcefull
12-11-2007, 07:10 AM
A close friend let his girlfriend and 2 kids move in with him. One is 19 the other is 21. Both boys have graduated school, one flunked out of college the 1st year and the 21 year old boy has no direction in life aside from playing in band. They are both able bodied and pay nothing to my friend or there mom to help with living expenses. Both boys have lived with him for over a year now and do nothing to help him around the house.