PDA

View Full Version : So how cold, how long, to freeze your I/O?

H2O
12-14-2007, 08:08 AM
This is my first year with an I/O (after a lifetime of owning outboards).
Can anyone guess how cold it has to be, and for how long, to freeze the residual water in the engine block enough to do some damage?
It has been 60 here during the day, but just touching 31 to 32 for an hour or two overnight.(I'm hoping the thermal mass of the engine being warmer all day, didn't allow the block to get cold enough to freeze overnight.)
I planned on running some anti-freeze through for winter prep, but I injured myself and required shoulder surgery. I wasn't sweating it too much, because it virtually never goes below freezing here on the coast, but the last couple of nights have touched 31 to 32 overnight.
I going to winterize it as soon as I can, but I'm kind of stressing over the idea that I might have already F'd it up.:(
Thoughts?

phebus
12-14-2007, 08:17 AM
Run an extension cord, and place a shop light in your bilge to heat it until you can winterize it. Is the boat stored indoors or out?

DCBob
12-14-2007, 08:21 AM
This is my first year with an I/O (after a lifetime of owning outboards).
Can anyone guess how cold it has to be, and for how long, to freeze the residual water in the engine block enough to do some damage?
It has been 60 here during the day, but just touching 31 to 32 for an hour or two overnight.(I'm hoping the thermal mass of the engine being warmer all day, didn't allow the block to get cold enough to freeze overnight.)
I planned on running some anti-freeze through for winter prep, but I injured myself and required shoulder surgery. I wasn't sweating it too much, because it virtually never goes below freezing here on the coast, but the last couple of nights have touched 31 to 32 overnight.
I going to winterize it as soon as I can, but I'm kind of stressing over the idea that I might have already F'd it up.:(
Thoughts?