PDA

View Full Version : Surgery question...............

Lazerray
05-20-2008, 11:36 AM
I'm getting my knee "scoped" tomorrow for a torn meniscus. My question is how long is the average recovery time to where I'm pain free and stable enough to return to work? I am an HVAC Mechanic and do a lot of ladder climbing. Anyone been through this?

HalletDave
05-20-2008, 11:50 AM
I'm getting my knee "scoped" tomorrow for a torn meniscus. My question is how long is the average recovery time to where I'm pain free and stable enough to return to work? I am an HVAC Mechanic and do a lot of ladder climbing. Anyone been through this?
It sort of depends on your age, what is your overall physical condition and how rapidly do you heal.
I had the same surgery on my left knee (torn medial meniscus) when I was 46 years old. I was back coaching & doing full sprint workouts with my track athletes in 6 weeks.
Good luck:)

Riomouse911
05-20-2008, 08:29 PM
My second (of three) knee ops was a lateral patella release and meniscus tear repair on the right knee. I was out of commission for about 2 months...(the ligament replacement (#3 of 3) recovery time was about 7 months.
Remember ice is your friend when they get sore and swell up..and good luck!

upsman105
05-20-2008, 09:40 PM
Really depends on what kind of shape you are in... I had that done, also had torn A.C.L., but did not fix that... I am a UPS driver (imagine that) and I was back to work within 2 weeks.... partly because daytime television sucks so bad that I had to go back to work before I went insane...

Jerrys59
05-21-2008, 08:24 AM
Sure got to be better that a totel knee replacment like I had about a year and half ago. All good now though.

pancho
05-23-2008, 04:05 AM