PDA

View Full Version : Shoe angle

bo brown
06-10-2008, 08:16 AM
I have just recently purchased a 75 18ft Rodgers boat w/ LS7, Berkley pump. I am somewhat new to the jet boat world but eager to play. A friend of mine that has been around jet boats for a while was telling me something about setting the angle on the shoe to get maximum speed from my boat. Can anyone enlighten me on the subject and how and why this needs to be set? I am somewhat familiar where the shoe and diverter plate is located, I just need to know how to set it all up.
Thanks in advance for any comments.
Bo

bp
06-13-2008, 11:22 AM
do you have any pics of the transom and pump? does your boat have a shoe/rideplate installed??
go to this site: http://home.pacbell.net/jmcclure/ShoePlate.html, and look at the third pic down. it gives an example of what is termed a "tapered" shoe, which is thicker toward the biting edge than at the back (i.e., angled "up" at the rear), and a "backcut" shoe which, from the biting edge back, is angled downward (as installed).
the "depth of the biting edge" below the intake, or shoe mounting pad, is critical in maintaining adequate suction pressure to the pump. if the depth is too shallow the pump can run out of water at higher speeds; excessive depth can result in overloading, causing other problems to the point of being unsafe. each boat is different, but in general, keep the biting edge above keel centerline (straight edge down the centerline of the keel, the biting edge should be above it).
in general, a "backcut" shoe will provide greater keel lift than a "tapered" or "flat" shoe. in other words, at a given speed (say 40), with a backcut shoe the hull will be riding somewhat "higher" on the water than the same hull with a tapered shoe; more lift = less drag = more efficient ride. less drag also equals quicker and faster.