PDA

View Full Version : hp question

bo brown
06-20-2008, 10:54 AM
I'm new at all this jet boat stuff. Eager to learn though. bp you helped me last week with shoe angle question. I took my 17ft Rogers out yesterday. With a gps the boat only ran 62mph. I have a 550 hp 468 with dual holley's. I had 4 people on the boat with about 20 gal. of fuel. Is there any way to tell what impeller I have without tearing the pump down? That was 62 mph at 5500 rpm's. That doesn't sound very good to me. I would think I could get more out of this boat. Could there be something in the setup of the shoe, ride plate, ect:
And, is there a difference in mtr hp and shft hp. If so how do you determine shft hp?
Thanks for any and all comments
Bo

hkunz
06-20-2008, 11:54 AM
What was the water like? I've had a boat slow down when i went from chop to glass.:idea:

bo brown
06-20-2008, 12:23 PM
The water condition had a "mild chop " to it. Wasn't to bad but there were times I had to back out of it because it was a little rough. I figured the boat would do around 70 or 75. I think there was too much boat in the water. It could have been too much weight. 4 people = 750lbs fuel probably another 140 lbs. I don't know I'll try on the river tomorrow where the water is a little better for running jets. My buddy and I will take a look at how much boat is in the water versus the angles on the shoe. He supposedly knows how to check all that. I guess I'll know more tomorrow.
thanks for any and all help and suggestions.
Bo

bo brown
06-20-2008, 12:24 PM
I would add pics but I have to figure out how to do all this first. I'll try and have pics up on Monday
Bo

bp
06-20-2008, 12:25 PM