PDA

View Full Version : 79 Sundance Jet boat. Please help...

d-jet-boat-may
06-28-2008, 11:47 PM
Hello All,
I am new to boating and just bought a 1979 18' Sundance Jet Boat. It has a 454 bbc, berkley jet, and a demon carb. First time I took it out i was on the water for 10 mins and the thing took a shit on me. Went back home figured out there was no spark, it was the ignition module. I noticed the oil was reading low on the dip stick so I added two quarts to bring it up to the proper level. The next time I took it out it ran fine for the first part of the day. Then I started having issues again, I started leaking oil, and every time I would bring the boat to 5000 rpm's it would die completley. I am not sure if I have the right dip stick for the motor, and have no idea how many quarts my oil pan holds. How can I figure out how many quarts my oil pan holds so I can get the proper dip stick? If i put to much oil in the motor could that have caused my oil leak? Any ideas why my boat cuts out after 5000 rpm's???:mad:

jetboat
06-30-2008, 11:53 AM
check with tom at jetboat performance,or try another site,performance boats.com.theres many answeres to your question.

'75 Miller
06-30-2008, 12:18 PM
On my last trip to Pyramid, I had a similar problem. The boat acted fine up to about 4000 rpm, and after that it started to sputter and die. For me, the problem was not enough fuel pressure combined with too little fuel in the carburetor's fuel bowls.
Does your engine have a mechanical or electric fuel pump? Do you have a fuel pressure gauge? My pressure was at about 6 lbs, and was too low. After re-setting at between 7.5-8lbs, the problem disappeared completely.
Matt

d-jet-boat-may
06-30-2008, 08:26 PM
On my last trip to Pyramid, I had a similar problem. The boat acted fine up to about 4000 rpm, and after that it started to sputter and die. For me, the problem was not enough fuel pressure combined with too little fuel in the carburetor's fuel bowls.