PDA

View Full Version : 75 MPH 600 +HP? Looking to go 80+

AMANGO
10-07-2008, 04:02 PM
Hello I'm new to this Threading, but I'm looking for a little help. I just rebuilt my big block ford 460 engine bored .030 over. a few tech info 11.2.1 comp. 585int 588 exh comp cam extreme marine duration @.050 254 int. exh 264 lobe separation 112.0 cam rpm range 2500 to 6600. Cylinder heads Pro comp I port matched the heads to the intake an offenhhauser Tunnel Ram with single carb setup 850 CFM looking to go to a 1050 CFM. Est. Hp 600 +. Boat info 76 Eliminator bubble deck 18.5 ft Rebuilt Berkeley pump well Berekely intake and American turbine Bowl Gen. 5 Droop snoop and jetavator and B cut impeller and a extreme loader. The engine currently turns 5400 to 5600 RPM depending on conditions I was hopping to turn 6000 to 6400 RPM and my speed is GPS at 75 MPH I'm trying to Breach 80 + and thought that would be possible with my build. The boat when accelerated hard will caveatted and hit the rev. limiter? I was thinking of going with a different nozzle with changeable inserts? maybe 3 1/4" its a standard nozzle know 3" and adding a ride plate and shoe? When the wife lets me spend a little more $ If you guys have any info that will help It will be highly appreciated. Thanks

jetboatperformance
10-07-2008, 07:19 PM
Welcome to the forums ,Several things come to mind , my cam and "power band" choice would likely have been different but that said , under the correct conditions true 600 hp will turn a standard "B" cut Impeller right at 5800 rpms (+ or-). The Jet drive ,if working properly will literally "limit" your motor back to its actual power . Knowing more (and seeing pics ) about the actual boat and set up would be helpful to make suggestions to you Tom
(chart is courtesy of Hitech)
http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r319/jetboatperformance/impeller_Chart1.jpg

TIMINATOR
10-08-2008, 08:33 AM