PDA

View Full Version : Jet Boat Design flaw ?

RH
04-10-2003, 03:37 PM
I'm new to the jet boat thang , bought a 1976 spectra 18 end of last summer 460 with a berk. JE runs like a top but here is my question and I would like your opinion . I have read many posts on regulating water pressure going through the block because it runs too high and low water temps during normal operation because they should be higher . I don't know my water pressure and my temp while out cursing is around 120 Deg. , my boat is stock . Why would so many jet boats be built without the builder addressing these problems ? I would consider both these issues to be a design flaw what's your opinion ?
Thanks RH

1973 Hondo
04-10-2003, 03:54 PM
From what i understand, being told that is, on the berk it puts out over 200 psi from the pump to the motor,What i do know is the jacuzzi at max rpms only puts out 40 psi,or 200 gph . And that is a question everyone is asking my friend. And im sorry but the wj pump is the only one i know at this time..

jet4fun
04-11-2003, 04:41 PM
you should read my reply on this thread (http://forums.***boat.net/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=11;t=002455) it should explain how to alleviate your problem (if you have one)...
as far as there being a design flaw... well thats a matter of opinion. most boats (boats other than jets) have to use a water pickup system and a water pump... the idea behind a jet boat is to use water pressure from the jet rather than using a water pump, in other words a much simpler and reliable setup. as i've stated in my post on that link, once you have a correct setup you should have no problems......