PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here..Sutphen Question

TJS
07-02-2003, 08:53 PM
Hi,
This is my first post here. I am looking at a Sutphen Sport (18ft). It has no motor (set up for BBC).The hull is nice no cracks anywhere. The paint is mint (needs a little buffing) the interior is in very good condition. The pump is a Berk with the hand hole outside the transom. I looked inside the hand hole and there is a stainless shaft with I think an alum impeller. I lifted up and down on the shaft and there was some play (how much is normal). The play felt about .050 or so. It has all the wiring nice and neat and trim tabs as well. The trailer is in very good shape as well.
There are two alum fuel tanks (rect) that are in perfect condition. However, I think some glass work was done in the back cause the tanks are not bolted down (how do you do this). Also the steering moves back and forth with no binding. The person is selling the boat for his cousin and he could not answer all my questions. The motor mount brackets on the stringers are missing as well as the rear bracket for the bellhousing area. Also missing is the driveshaft and flywheel adapter. I did not see any headers laying around either. So I asked the person showing me the boat to get back to me with answers. He is asking 2750.00 for the boat. He showed me the title and the serial numbers are all there as well. I know a little about these boats cause I redid a CHeyene for a buddy of mine a while back. He is in process of building a motor for his boat. So he has mounts and flywheel adapter laying around.