PDA

View Full Version : oil change help

SCUBA STEVE
06-09-2003, 12:11 PM
ok thinking about changing the oil myself on the boat. (save some cash)
what am I getting into, what type of pump & oil should I get.
do I need to change the filter as well?
the manuel recommends sae5-30w. is that regular car oil?
502 marine power engine. 40 hrs. Book says change at 50, but I dont like the way the oil looks.
thanks for your help. as you can tell I am a rookie at this, and want to start doing things on my own.

Hustler
06-09-2003, 12:22 PM
Do you know if you have a drain line off of the pan? I use one of these http://www.westmarine.com/images/full/11935_f.jpg
I went down to the local hardware store and got a hose barb-3/8 pipe and screw together with drain line on the pan. Oil will be drained in a matter of minutes.
[ June 09, 2003, 01:28 PM: Message edited by: Hustler ]

SCUBA STEVE
06-09-2003, 12:45 PM
I dont know. I guess I'll have to find out.
If I dont I can just use one of those pump things right?

Hustler
06-09-2003, 12:51 PM
yes you can still use the same pump, you just stick the hose down the dip stick tube.
By the way that pump is $49.95 at west marine, it's one of the best investments I made.

BlownHowardCat
06-09-2003, 12:59 PM
Hook your boat up 2 the hose and warm it up. Hot oil is easier than cold oil to pump out. Just my 2 cents

Hustler
06-09-2003, 01:06 PM
BlownHowardCat:
Hook your boat up 2 the hose and warm it up. Hot oil is easier than cold oil to pump out. Just my 2 cents This is true but you need to make sure you have water to both the pump and the motor

SCUBA STEVE
06-09-2003, 01:11 PM
ah fock, I knew this wasnt going to be easy.
ok I think I am going to wait until op6, then ask you some of the jet boaters for some show & tell.
"water hose goes here, pump oil through here... etc"
I can probably figure out pumping the oil through the dip stick just fine, but I am still really sketchy on the water hose deal.