PDA

View Full Version : pictures

signmaster
04-13-2003, 05:49 PM
nope no pictures yet I have a long way to go til it looks as good as some of your west coast boats but as sone as its done Ill put some up.thanks for the advice but I need more answers please. such as are wet injected headers at all capable of getting water back into the heads, damaging valves and so forth here in wisconsin no one uses them and some local performance boat dealers say they'll wreck my new engine. any and all help will be greatly appreciated. thanks.
[ April 13, 2003, 06:58 PM: Message edited by: signmaster ]

Jungle Boy
04-13-2003, 06:14 PM
You should check and make sure that you can run open headers on the lakes you plan to run first before buying a set. I'm no expert on wet headers, but they have a valve that shut down water injection at low RPM, thus preventing water back flow into your heads. A good set of wet manifolds and thru-transom exhaust will prevent any water entering your exhaust system and engine. From my experience, open headers only provide marginal HP gains with engines up to 500 HP. We only run open headers in races and see only 200 - 250 RPM difference over Power-flo or Lightening wet exhaust. Just my thoughts, I know lots of the guys here run open headers here and are happy with them.

DEL51
04-13-2003, 08:45 PM
Whoever told you that the water injected headers will wreck your engine and that nobody uses them up here is wrong. There are not many jetters in my area but out of the 8 boats in our group, only one is using the log type manifolds.A fellow named Jim Lee has a fix for water reversion.The unit controls the the water injection so it activates well above Idle.You could also get a set of the water jacketed headers from cmi or lightning but they are expensive.

MAXIMUS
04-14-2003, 06:01 AM