PDA

View Full Version : wedge installation

Nubbs
08-07-2002, 08:47 PM
I'm going to install a 4 degree wedge on my dominator pump this weekend. I was wandering if you guys have any tips/helpfull instructions/cautions? I've never done this before, but it looks pretty easy and straight forward. I just want to make sure I'm not overlooking anything.
Thanks

MikeC
08-07-2002, 09:30 PM
Hi, Are you going to wedge it up (bigger roost) or down (more lift)???
MikeC

Nubbs
08-07-2002, 10:10 PM
Up, for more rooster!!!!! :D

skeepwerkzaz
08-07-2002, 10:21 PM
Go to the hardware store with your wedge and get the appropriate length stainless bolts and washers, don't forget to leave length for the nozzle. Prepare for lift-off. Cock-a-doodle-doo!

Nubbs
08-07-2002, 10:31 PM
Does the nozzle require any machining? Do the bolt holes still line up properly with the wedge?

flat broke
08-07-2002, 10:35 PM
A wise man in Costa Mesa let me in on a little secret. When you use a wedge switch from bolts to studs and nuts on the steering adapter/droop flange. The reason being is that if you run bolts, as you tighten down against the canted surface it could cause the bolt to bend, bind, or break in the bowl. where as with the stud, the worst that will happen is the stud will bend a little as the nut tightens down.
Good luck,
Chris

HBjet
08-07-2002, 11:15 PM
flat broke:
A wise man in Costa Mesa let me in on a little secret. When you use a wedge switch from bolts to studs and nuts on the steering adapter/droop flange. The reason being is that if you run bolts, as you tighten down against the canted surface it could cause the bolt to bend, bind, or break in the bowl. where as with the stud, the worst that will happen is the stud will bend a little as the nut tightens down.
Good luck,
ChrisGood Advice!
HBjet

Unchained
08-08-2002, 03:39 AM