PDA

View Full Version : What's your estimated performance loss with this pump

sidewound
03-26-2003, 07:19 PM
Hey Kids,
Just a question for the Gurus and the unknowing as well. Can you give me your estimate of the percent of performance loss with this A berk impeller and JC bowl in the condition they are in. After pulling the bowl and uttering a few choice ones I could stick a .032" feeler gauge in the wear ring gap. That thickness is pretty stiff too.
http://www.***boat.com/image_center/data/500/114My_boat_018-med.jpg
http://www.***boat.com/image_center/data/500/114My_boat_012-med.jpg
I'm in the midst of a rebuild and was just interested in anyones opinion.
Peace Man
CESAR

miller19j
03-26-2003, 08:17 PM
First let me start off by saying that I am not an expert.
Now that we have got that settled. From the looks of your impeller you have a cavitation problem. It appears to me that you have heavy cavitation burns on the front surface of your impeller. The leading edge surfaces of your impeller also appear to be pretty badly chipped and deformed as well. Possibly the cause of your cavitation but I think that it is more likely a clearance problem. I think that your pump is loose.
You say that a .032 “ feeler gauge fits between the wear ring gap? Are you measuring between the wear ring and impeller or from the impeller front surface to the suction piece. The only real way to measure the wear ring clearance is with a large Caliper and preferably a snap gauge. Feeler gauges can easily fool you.
If it was my jet I would rebuild it. I would replace the Impeller and wear ring and Do a little clean up on the veins of your bowl.
I can’t really quantify how much performance you are loosing. But I am going to bet that if you rebuilt the jet you would notice the difference.
Just my 2 cents

malcolm
03-26-2003, 08:46 PM
All I can say is, it'll pump water!