PDA

View Full Version : Intake Manifold Gasket - What Gives??

propless
05-27-2002, 02:33 PM
Out boating this afternoon and started hearing what appeared to be an exhaust gasket giving way (no major deal, but a pain none the less). Upon looking further, it is the exhaust manifold gasket?
I'm no rocket scientist, but in all my years of boating, never have I lost an exhaust manifold gasket and I'm at a lost at what causes the intake manifold gasket to fail.
Three questions:
1. Is this a major issue and should I have a pro replace this and look deeper into the failure?
2. Or is this not that uncommon, and should I be able to replace this? Any torque requirements or what outs that I should avoid?
3. If I mark the distributor before pulling it out, should I not be able to drop it back in without having to reset everything?
Boat was running great, no issues to report. It is an Indmar 454, Edelbrock aluminum manifold w/850 Holley - nothing very fancy.
As always - thanks for the help and comments.

cncer691
05-27-2002, 02:49 PM
I'm lost, did you lose your intake, or exhaust gasket. I've never had an exhaust seal, so I wouldn't worry about that. The intake is also a piece of cake. Just mark your dist. setting before you take it off. I believe the torque setting for an aluminum intake is 25 foot pounds. Don't take my word for that, though.

propless
05-27-2002, 03:27 PM
Sorry about that, I tried to indicate that it is my intake manifold gasket that has blown.

Banshee
05-27-2002, 05:17 PM