PDA

View Full Version : 1ST JET BOAT , HELP!

maddago
09-28-2002, 09:05 PM
I HAVE JUST BOUGHT MY FIRST JET. IT'S A 72 BAYLON WITH A 455 OLDS AND A BERKLEY JET. IVE OWNED SEVERAL STERN DRIVES, BUT IM NEW TO THE JET SCENE.ANY POINTERS WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!HOW DO YOU KEEP THE BERKLEY PROPERLY LUBED ETC.

TripleThreat
09-28-2002, 10:03 PM
Is it a Baylon or Bayon boat you own? I own a 20 foot Bayon mini-day here in Redding, CA. Bayon custom boats were built here locally up until 1994, then they went under. Where are you located?
There should be two plugs in the bowl that you should make sure are filled with 90wt gear oil. There is also a zerk fitting at the front of the pump that you use to fill with Marine grade grease, if it needs it.
Take care.

homeblt86jet
09-28-2002, 10:30 PM
I allways grease mine every time I take it out... and you should change your bowl oil," or at least check it", twice a season.. and on your grease zerk, use high preasure , high temp grease. its more exp. but your pump will last longer......Glad you got a jet and welcome to the boards. :D :D

Omega21
09-28-2002, 11:15 PM
Maddago-
First, welcome to the world of jets & the boards! Second, glad to see someone else from Coeur d'Alene on here, I thought I was alone! Lastly, if you'd like some help, don't tell my wife what we're doing and call my cell phone. I live by the Silverlake mall :-) 964-6110
Todd

maddago
09-29-2002, 07:55 AM
THANKS FOR THE RESPONSE GUYS. IMISS TYPED EARLIER, THE BOAT IS A BAYON NOT BAYLON. IT SEEMS TO BE AVERY WELL BUILT BOAT IT IS A 21 DAYCRUISER. TODD,I WILL PROBABLY BE GIVING YOU A CALL. WE LIVE OVER BY ROSE,LK,ID SO WE SPEND ALOT OF TIME ON THE RIVER, WE NORMALY WIND UP AT CARLIN BAY ON SAT NIGHTS, MY WIFE IS NOT EXACTLY THRILLED WITH THIS BOAT,SHE ACTUALLY WANTS ME TO PUT MUFFLERS ON IT ! NO WAY!! I'VE ALWAYS RUN SMALL BLOCKS, WHAT'S A GOOD WEIGHT OIL TO RUN IN THE 455?

maddago
09-29-2002, 08:13 AM