PDA

View Full Version : Musts For A 460 Rebuild

Hallett19
05-08-2002, 09:19 AM
I have the thing apart, and I am not going to re ring it, but I am going to do new bearings, mains, cam and rod, and hottank it, what should I do to the crank ? should I balance the rods and pistons to the identical weight ? any other tricks I should know of ?

Licketty Split
05-08-2002, 11:16 AM
Dude pop the extra cash for a set of total seal rings its cheap hourse power and peace of mind, Also install a themostat setup availible from CP think about it for a minute. The engine was designed for a 180 to 220 degree enviroment and thats when the clearences are correct. You have probubly never seen those figures in your boat unless some thing when wrong. I'll bet a swing date that if those rings have any time on them they have all ready lost there tension
PS I'm an Engineer so F&*K spelling http://free.***boat.net/ubb/smile.gif

HavasuDreamin'
05-08-2002, 11:20 AM
You have got it apart, go all the way. Re-ring it. Like LS said, it is cheap insurance and this way you know everything is done right! Good Luck

Beavertim
05-08-2002, 02:29 PM
Hallett19,
You should, if you haven't already, have the crank measured. If it's out of spec, you'll need a grind and undersized bearings, otherwise your clearances may be too large and contribute to loss of oil pressure. The pistons and rods should be within weight variation specs, but since they're out, it wouldn't hurt to verify that. Also, make sure you hone the cylinders if you put new rings in. Good luck and have fun. Tim

77charger
05-08-2002, 04:44 PM
Dude get the rings they only run about 30.00 more.And have a machine shop check the crank out especially the journals were the bearings were scored.Unless you plan on reving 5500 and up all daylong skip the balancing.I believe that most internals are balanced already other wise you would notice alot of shaking or vibration.