PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie Seeks Advice

FasterNU
09-11-2003, 09:55 AM
Well, first of all, I'd like to praise the wealth of knowledge here.
Unfortunately, I have never owned my own boat, but did have a family boat(tri-hull mercury outboard). I've always wanted a loud jet boat ssince I was a kid. I know absolutely squat about jetboats, but I want to get one within the next 4-6 months.
I have been looking on boat trader for a while and lurking in this forum. I live in San Diego. I am thinking of spending approx $4,000. Will this get me a decent boat?? They "look" good in the ads.
What pump should I be looking for? Is there any I should staty away from? I am thinking a Berkely because of the name... but I don't know the difference betewwen the different model pumps.
What about motors? Looks like the Olds 455's are fairly common. Is a Chevy 454 or Ford 460 going to be much better? or easier to find parts for? What type of information should I be seeking when evaluating a boat?
As for the hull.. I am thinking 17-19 feet. Any and all info would be appreciated. i am just looking for insight at this point. I don't want to get screwed with a POS!! Can you tell if a boat is going to work well without actually taking it on the water.. ie: feel the pump impeller bearingt o see if it's worn etc? I am pretty mechanical, I own several dirtbikes and can rebuild 4 and 2-stroke motors...

DetroitJim
09-11-2003, 11:41 AM
My two cents: