PDA

View Full Version : Homemade Oil Cooler

82SleekCraft
05-14-2002, 01:45 PM
Has anyone out there attempted to make an oil cooler? I think that it wouldn't be that hard. Maybe some 3" stainless steel pipe about a foot long. Some 1" stainless elbows and T's for the oil line.
Oh, having a TIG welder would also help.

turbo
05-14-2002, 06:42 PM
Hey 82 cleek, I am thinking about it. I have a tig and a 78 sleekcraft.

82SleekCraft
05-14-2002, 08:08 PM
Turbo,
What kind of Sleekcraft do you have http://free.***boat.net/ubb/rolleyes.gif? I have a 21-ft Diplomat. Open bow.
Does anyone know the proper oil temperature? I've heard of the number 160F from here before. How hot is hot oil which warrants an oil cooler?
82SleekCraft

racingrascal
05-16-2002, 07:51 AM
Originally posted by 82SleekCraft:
Does anyone know the proper oil temperature? I've heard of the number 160F from here before. How hot is hot oil which warrants an oil cooler?
82SleekCraft
I have been told that your oil temp. should be around 180 and you don't really want it getting any hotter then that. I have heard some people say don't worry about until 260 but I think that is a liitle on the high side. I am having some work done by Dave at DNE and that was one of the first questions he asked was what temp is my oil at. I told him 225 and he told me to put a cooler on it right away, so now I am putting a cooler on it.
Andy

HBjet
05-16-2002, 07:53 AM
Originally posted by racingrascal:
I told him 225 and he told me to put a cooler on it right away, so now I am putting a cooler on it.
Andy
Not to mention is was 8:30am in the morning and about 60 degrees outside, and who know's how cold the water was. Oh, and at that temp the boat was just crusing, not WOT passes.
HBjet

Banshee
05-16-2002, 02:55 PM
Here’s a copy and paste from a post I made a couple of weeks ago.