PDA

View Full Version : 460 oil with water

Ray Hamel
06-10-2003, 01:14 PM
Need some input before I start tearing this thing apart. 18' 1976 Nordic 460 Ford with Dominator pump . This engine has always(and still does) run great but has developed water in the oil. My original assumption was a blown head gasket?? It has been suggested that the leak could also be from the timing cover gasket or header gaskets?????? When I winterized it last fall some of the RV antifreeze was leaking into the hull, but I couldn't see from where. I have owned this boat for six years but have never had to work on it before so it is like I am new to the sport. Any suggestions would be appriciated before I start tearing apart the difficult stuff.

OMEGA_BUBBLE_JET
06-10-2003, 01:20 PM
could you tell the general vacinity of where it was coming from? ie front of motor, side, back, etc.

Hustler
06-10-2003, 01:32 PM
I do know that those timing have a problem with corrosion but you have to take them apart to find out. I would check that out first,It's easier than pulling the motor or heads.

jdog
06-10-2003, 02:02 PM
Ray, My name is Jay Hamel and I live in Ca. I doubt if were related though. I have an 18' Weiman/Rogers with a 455 Olds. I had water get into the oil via the water pump gasket, front of motor. After that was fixed, I had water in oil from running too cold. Gate valve fixed that problem. It has been running good for two seasons now. If the above isn't your problem, could be cracked block, cracked head, blown head gaskets, or the other problems you mentioned.
Start out slow and try to trace where your anti freeze is leaking from before tearing apart motor. Good luck. Jay

jdog
06-10-2003, 02:05 PM
I'm sorry I'm no mechanic I meant to say timing cover gasket. Jay

06-10-2003, 02:36 PM