PDA

View Full Version : I got it out!

BrendellaJet
02-26-2003, 10:52 AM
Yeee haaa. After a few failed attempts, I got my intake out. Thought I would pass on what I learned. Trying to remove the intake with out the weight of the engine in the boat is not easy, although, it may well be impossible to do with the engine in the boat- but you could probably break it loose with it in there, pull the motor, and then finish with the intake. Any how, I tried strapping the boat to the trailer and using the hydraulic jack-no luck. That lifted the back wheels right off the ground. Back to the drawing board. Took a piece of 4x6 and laid it perpendicularly across the stringers, directly above where I was trying to jack the intake up from underneath. Then, I cut a piece of 2x6 to wedge between the 4x6 and a very large overhead support in the garage-this was to hold the boat down. It was out in minutes after I started lifting with the jack. The sound was not pretty, but it did very little damage-mostly cosmetic. I definitely recommend this method. It worked well.

Omega21
02-26-2003, 11:39 AM
not that I've done it before, but wouldn't it be possible to simply lay a 4x6 accross the back of the boat, hook a come-along to it & pull the intake up?
Just curious
Todd

BrendellaJet
02-26-2003, 11:56 AM
Omega21:
not that I've done it before, but wouldn't it be possible to simply lay a 4x6 accross the back of the boat, hook a come-along to it & pull the intake up?
Just curious
Todd not sure I follow, seems like you wouldn't have enought leverage. I never thought it could be as tight as it was. Whateve was used to install it did not want to let go.

1Bahnerjet
02-28-2003, 07:45 AM
BrendellaJet:
Omega21:
Just curious
Todd not sure I follow, seems like you wouldn't have enought leverage. I never thought it could be as tight as it was. Whateve was used to install it did not want to let go. What is it that they use to install it anyway, some kind of glue?,What are you using? :confused: