PDA

View Full Version : Carb rebuild or new?

gotdamp
08-05-2002, 11:43 AM
I have a Holley 650 cfm 4-barrel on my 1981 Ford 460 jet that needs a rebuild. I am getting prices near $300 for a rebuild of this carb. I have never worked on carbs before and rebuilding it myself is not a good option. Should I just buy a new Holley ($400-450). What problems with installation, setup or tuning might I have with a new Carb? Is it worth going to a 750 cfm or will I have jetting issues. Any help would be much appreciated.

diggler
08-05-2002, 11:46 AM
gotdamp:
I have a Holley 650 cfm 4-barrel on my 1981 Ford 460 jet that needs a rebuild. I am getting prices near $300 for a rebuild of this carb. I have never worked on carbs before and rebuilding it myself is not a good option. Should I just buy a new Holley ($400-450). What problems with installation, setup or tuning might I have with a new Carb? Is it worth going to a 750 cfm or will I have jetting issues. Any help would be much appreciated.I had the exact same problem with my 650cfm carb. I paid $35.00 or so for the rebuild kit from Summit Racing and bought a book on rebuilding Holley carbs. Well, I ended up screwing everything up as I had a lot more problems than a blown power valve and new gaskets.
I said to hell with it and bought a new 750cfm carb and I'm expecting great things out of it once I finish rebuilding the engine.
I

Liberator TJ1984
08-05-2002, 11:53 AM
Look up Summit or Jegs ,they should have a selection of New Holley's in there for what the kit will cost ....... :D

rivercrazy
08-05-2002, 12:08 PM
A 650 is a little small for a 460 or any big block for that matter. I'd upgrade to at least a 750cfm or an 800cfm. The Holley 9022 marine carb is a good one. Its a doublepumper with mechanical secondaries.

gotdamp
08-05-2002, 12:34 PM
I just talked to Superior Carburetors in Phoenix, Az and they quoted $175 to rebuilt and ship back to me. That doesn't seem too bad. Anybody heard of these guys?

gotdamp