PDA

View Full Version : why!!! didmy jet die?

bordsmnj
08-28-2002, 04:08 PM
just dropped a nice little 327 in my boat it siesed my impeller after the first hour. it has a 1978 bayjet that i know next to nothing about as i'm new to boating. what are common reasons why this happens ? i didn't do anything to the jet accept pump some maring grease into it. it used to vibrate when the hose was hooked up to it while running in the driveway trying to get the last motor dialed in.new motor has 325 hp. old motor-maybe 200.(305 chevy). I could used any advice,opinions or answer questions on needed info.-if i can. i need clues and am leary of taking the thing apart. but i get the motor back in a week or two. Gotta fix it.

Jungle Boy
08-28-2002, 04:24 PM
Time to do some homework. Remove the bowl and check to see if anything is jammed in the impeller and pump body. Did you check the main bearing before installing the engine? If not, remove the drive shaft and check to see if the main shaft spins smoothly and without grinding action. Any forward/backward or up/down motion is not good. Does the impeller and wear ring still fit nice without any signs of heavy wear patterns. All of this can be done by a backyard guy with a minimum of tools. Also, when you were running a hose while playing with your motor, you were probably doing damage to the impeller and wear ring, because that doesn't get wet (lubed). Don't do that with the driveshaft still hooked up. Have fun.
[ August 28, 2002, 05:27 PM: Message edited by: Jungle Boy ]

LVjetboy
08-28-2002, 05:00 PM
Think Jungle's right on.