PDA

View Full Version : Help - Whats Wrong with my setup?

Havasuhog
10-16-2003, 02:15 PM
Im kinda new to boating - So please help me.
I bought this wooden 26' boat for $5000.00 and it had a 200Hp outboard mounted through the middle of the boat. The previous owner stated that it would turn a lot harder and quicker and was real easy to dock since you could just do 360's without moving forward or backwards.
He mounted a set of billet handle bars and a twist grip throttle to control the steering and throttle. He also said it also would be faster on plane because it was already sitting level in the water before you accelerate. Does this sound right?
My buddy suggested that we could also add an older model jet drive cause they were made out of steel instead of aluminum. He said I could add as much horsepower as I wanted cause they were bulletproof.
I was thinking that was a pretty cool idea and I could just use the outboard for steering and mount the jet drive without the nozzle for forward power.
I noticed that without the nozzle the hole in the back of the bowl was much larger and would flow
alot more water through it.
Has anyone done this?
I haven't been able to locate a steel jet drive yet - Does anone have one?

Cs19
10-16-2003, 02:29 PM
LMAO

Jungle Boy
10-16-2003, 02:45 PM
Good acid is still available I see. :cool:

Bense468
10-16-2003, 03:14 PM
Shows how much Havasu Hog knows about jets wink wink
Shouldn't you be home getting ready for the river or is the wooden boat not ready yet

Havasuhog
10-16-2003, 05:11 PM
Bense468:
Shows how much Havasu Hog knows about jets wink wink
Shouldn't you be home getting ready for the river or is the wooden boat not ready yet Bense - Yep I'm gone - Havasu for run 4 the sun
and a cruise on glass water. To bad your not making it. I'll bring back some pics
Later

Havasuhog
10-16-2003, 05:13 PM
Jungle Boy: