PDA

View Full Version : Arkansas River Trip

Posey
07-09-2003, 05:18 AM
Seadog is wanting to make a trip down the McClellan-Kerr Navigation Channel (Arkansas river)on August 1,2,3. I'm going to try and make it, how about you? Its a lot of fun, the more the better. :D :D

pgf127rt
07-12-2003, 04:07 AM
Posey:
Seadog is wanting to make a trip down the McClellan-Kerr Navigation Channel (Arkansas river)on August 1,2,3. I'm going to try and make it, how about you? Its a lot of fun, the more the better. :D :D Posey, I have been dreaming about making this trip with y'all since the topic was first started, my boat is ready to go, but my work load is to the point that it is looking iffy.
I am a concrete contractor and we have been workinf 12 hours a day since early summer and there is no end in sight, since our business is highly competetive we have to get it while it is here or lose it so the decision is to work now and play later, which sucks.

Seadog
07-12-2003, 05:03 AM
pgf127rt, hope you can make it. If not we will have you in our thoughts.

OLDRAT
07-23-2003, 09:50 AM
All I can say is do it! We have been down to Ft. Smith once and to Little Rock once in my 23' Webbcraft, and have been to New Orleans by cruiser. The locks are awesome. If you have a VHF radio, you can call ahead (CH 16) to the lock master and determine status and wait times. Some barges will not let you lock thru with them due to certain cargo. Also, sailbotes have priority over powerboats, but not many of them on the channel.
Fuel stops are available at Lake Kerr, Ft. Smith, etc...etc. Recommend taking an extra fuel filter/separator, just in case. If possible, get you a "corpses of engineers" naviation map set, it is somewhat accurate on channels, depths, markers, mileage, etc. It saved my lab-finished prop on several occasions and assisted in calculating fuel mileage. As a note, it took me 176 gallons from start to Ft. Smith and back.
Oldrat
wasted days and wasted nights

Posey
07-24-2003, 05:56 AM