PDA

View Full Version : Jetboats blowing over

Jungle Boy
10-20-2003, 03:11 PM
I've noticed in another thread that the subject of a jetboat blowing over was mentioned. I have very little to none experience with any boats other than the aluminum boats that we run, so correct me if I'm wrong. I have never heard of one of our type of boats blowing over and we air them out to the maximum and I know of a few that run 120 MPH. I have also believed that the main reason for this is that a jetboat can only lift so high before the pump sucks air and then it looses thrust and that causes the the boat to drop back down again. The prop boat blowovers on the other hand seem to get the full bottom of the boat in the air, but the difference is they still have the prop in the water pushing them. Am I missing something or do some jetboats (100 - 120 MPH type boats) have a risk of blowing over. I'm sure that there are plenty of drag race jets that will blow over just due to the big speed numbers they run.

Bense468
10-20-2003, 04:03 PM
Most of the boats blowing over are lighter boats. 300-350lbs. Thats not to say that a heavier lake boat cannot lift with the perfect conditions and enough HP to get that lift. Once they lift they are gone, the pump sucking air does not bring them back down at those speeds. It all happens in a fraction of a second. Gotta watch your horizon

HammerDown
10-20-2003, 05:47 PM
I'd have to be heading into one hell of a head wind to flip my 21 Daytona at 80 mph.:rolleyes:

Cs19
10-20-2003, 05:54 PM
Most of the blow overs are the air enrampment hulls around 19' long,they start to lift due to the air under the hull or a sudden gust of wind that packed a little too much air,unfortunatly it does happen.Here is a daytona that went over.
http://www.***boat.com/image_center/data/520/20DSCF0032.jpg

Jungle Boy
10-20-2003, 06:16 PM