PDA

View Full Version : transmission

hellbound
11-21-2003, 06:23 PM
Ok guys take it easy on me ok im a rookie here. has anyone ever tried a tranny in a jetboat?would it work?:rolleyes:

Jake W
11-21-2003, 06:55 PM
O no you dint .Yea in a V drive.they made a gear reduction box at one time .You get that stuff on the boat yet?
Jake:D

oknozelman
11-22-2003, 07:22 PM
I think they don't because a jet starts to lose it's efsiciency after about 6500 rpm, so there is no need for more gear.

hellbound
11-23-2003, 12:12 PM
ok i was just thinking no i havent got in on yet im waiting till i get it all and do it all at once.Im pulling the engine to paint it.so im going to get in on the stand.theck out the bottom end.im still looking for some heads.so i can boost up the compression a little.thinking about going with a roller set up to. and thanks for not tearing me up on the tranny ? LOL

hellbound
11-23-2003, 12:16 PM
Jake is that your pump set up in your picture?

UBFJ #454
11-23-2003, 01:38 PM
Trannies have been, and are now being used in several drag boats. They are being used as pump rpm reduction devices for engines that need to go "Upstairs" to produce their max Hp. At best, I'd say results of their use is mixed. Those who have seriously experimented with their use have found that it is better to design their engine(s) so that they produce their max Hp to match pump rpm efficiency.

Jake W
11-23-2003, 10:23 PM
Yes Hellbound that was how the pump was on the Tahiti.On the new project boat it will have from the bowl back on it.But it will be a diffrent intake and suction pice still Berkeley just a G intake and suction rather than a C not that it matters just got this one with my Kachina(old project) and it was machined all ready for a shoe and ride plate.
Jake

hellbound
11-24-2003, 11:27 PM
Thats some trick set up. Is your pump set back also?

Jake W
11-25-2003, 05:27 AM