PDA

View Full Version : Volvo vs Merc

andrew bradley
07-05-2001, 08:05 AM
Hello
I am looking at a fishing boat with a Volvo penta motor and drive. What is the word on the streets about Volvos vs Mercs? The motor is a 1998/1999 270 hp fuel injected & FWC. Does anybody know about this motor?
Thank you
Andrew

RBook
08-01-2001, 06:50 PM
Andrew,
I'm no expert but I do own a 1999 5.0GL/SX outdrive. The parts are more expensive and harder to find. Believe me I know, I just got my boat back. My outdrive locked up with only 70 hours on it and it took 2 months to get it repaired. I even had to raise HE** to get the parts shipped from Sweden to get it repaired that quick. The price to repair the outdrive was $4500.00!!!! Thank goodness for the extended warranty I purchased. It is supposed to be more user friendly as far as normal service. I'm not sure if the unit is more effecient but my 20 foot bowrider with this 220 horse motor runs 59 MPH with a full take of gas on board. If I had the chance to by it again I wouldn't, I would buy a Merc just for the price and parts issue. I may have just got bad service but parts are more available for a Merc.
Hope you weren't in love with this boat.
Robert.....

sea buddy
08-04-2001, 06:23 PM
Both Merc and volvo have chevy build them the same engine. Very minor differences there.
I would go with a Volvo duo-prop over single prop. Go with Merc if you must go with a single prop.
If you want to go over 60 mph, go Merc.
Drive a duo-prop for a half hour and then try whatever else, you will then understand.

RiverDave
08-17-2001, 02:52 PM
Why not a Bravo III? Same concept, Volvo's in general are just cheaper to buy (in the beginning anyways) I don't know about repairs etc... Merc has much more support though.
RD

cot_ton
09-25-2001, 05:04 PM
rbook,