PDA

View Full Version : Sea Strainer.........

Havasu_Dreamin
12-09-2003, 12:40 PM
Good idea or not worth the money or hassle? I have no experience with them so Pros and Cons? This would be for an HP500. Thanks!

Havasu Cig
12-09-2003, 12:56 PM
Definitely worth it. Teague is installing a pair of their new 10" strainers on our boat while it is up there. I have trashed a couple impellers because of seaweed without them.

BADBLOWN572
12-09-2003, 01:21 PM
If you are even considering running the boat in the ocean I would highly recommend installing them. Keeps a lot of the crap out of the impeller which will make it last longer. They will also cut down on the chances of getting sand/other impurities in the water jackets of the motor. I think that it is a no brainer if you are going to run in the ocean. If you are going to be running on the lake only, it is an option that is not required.

cola
12-09-2003, 02:11 PM
Do you guys run sea strainers with water pickups in the outdrive or ? Teague told me not to. Didn't see how it would matter.
Thanks, Mike

burtandnancy
12-09-2003, 02:38 PM
I've always run sea strainers for insurance. One on each motor, one on each chiller...

Rexone
12-09-2003, 02:41 PM
Recent thread on Sea Strainers (http://www.***boat.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=35825)
I'm going to move this thread to Gearheads because it's really a tech topic that doesn't fit in HSW well.

BADBLOWN572
12-09-2003, 03:53 PM
Originally posted by cola
Do you guys run sea strainers with water pickups in the outdrive or ? Teague told me not to. Didn't see how it would matter.
Thanks, Mike
I've never had a problem running one with the pickup in the drive. I think that it is just a person's preference.

Bow Tie Omega
12-10-2003, 06:16 AM