PDA

View Full Version : Ride Plate Removel

purplerain
01-26-2004, 02:47 PM
Anyone got a few tips on how to get my ride plate out of the hull?
I have removed all the hardware, but this white putty they have used to make it water tight is killing me. Does heat make it more ply-able? I am just havin a tough time with it, and I don't want to damage the hull.

BrendellaJet
01-26-2004, 03:29 PM
sounds like they epoxied it to the hull? What kind of boat? Got pics? I know that some Hondos and Brendellas (maybe others too) have a notchin the bottom for the ride plate to slip into, as opposed to machining the intake for one. I think heat will work, just font use too much. That white shit is a real bitch!

purplerain
01-26-2004, 03:36 PM
It's a Cee Bee Mfg. hull I am new to all this, and I will try to find out what style it is. In the mean time I will take a few shots of the plate and post them. Thanks for the input!

purplerain
01-26-2004, 03:47 PM
Here are a few pics!

Marlin455
01-26-2004, 04:01 PM
Maybe I'm crazy, but the pic you linked was of the intake for the pump, not a ride plate- If so, you can chip away at the white stuff, make sure ALL of the bolts are removed, then put a floor jack under the intake, and pop it out of the hull. Just my $.02, Stan

Squirtcha?
01-26-2004, 04:10 PM
That's what it looks like Marlin. Why ya taking the intake out there purplerain?

purplerain
01-26-2004, 04:33 PM
My bad wrong name (still learn'in). I am pull'in the intake because the corners are chiped on the front two bolt holes, so I didn't feel like it would make a good seal. Plus the fins on the bottom look like they have been chewed up and spit out! Should I not remove it? Can those fins be repaired? (I mean they are BAD!) Thanks guys for dealing with the newbie!

HBjet
01-26-2004, 04:38 PM
before taking it out, fill the bilge up with water and see if it will leak out the bottom. If not then the seal is fine and dont' touch it.
HBjet

Squirtcha?
01-26-2004, 04:43 PM