PDA

View Full Version : Deck Boat Choices

Mike67rs
01-29-2004, 04:47 PM
Hello all,
I'm a newbie here in the market for a 26'-28' deck boat. I currently own a 91 Carrera 20.5 Sport Elite which has treated us real well. I am not as concerned with speed as I am with build quality, smooth ride (pregnant wife) and ergonomics. I had a chance to hit the boat show and saw several candidates including the Hallett 260, Top Cat, Magic 28, HTM (unfinished) and Advantage 26' Party Cat. I have not seen much posted about the Hallett 260 and was wondering if anyone has opinions on this boat. I liked the deck set up and value. I am looking at running the 496 Mag HO and got a round figure price of about $83,000 out the door. I have read some negative opinions on Hallett's sales persons in another post...I was treated very well by their salesman at the boat show. I hope this does not start a bashing war...I am looking for honest opinions on the Hallett.

little rowe boat
01-29-2004, 05:33 PM
It's a Hallett,you know it's built well. I would also check out Conquest,they have a bad ass deck boat.:cool:

CAPTROBBY
01-29-2004, 05:48 PM
I'VE DONE ALOT OF HOMEWORK ON THE WHOLE DECKBOAT SCENE. CONQUEST, ELIMINATOR, HALLET, LAVEY, ADVANTAGE, ALL ARE NICE BOATS, HOWEVER I JUST PLUNKED DOWN MY MONEY FOR THE MAGIC. IN MY OPINION IT STANDS HEAD AND SHOUDERS ABOVE THE OTHERS. THE QUALITY IS TOP NOTCH, AND EQUIPMENT THAT IS EXTRA ON THE OTHERS IS STANDARD ON THE MAGIC. THE BOAT IS ALSO VERY WELL THOUGHT OUT. AFTER LOOKING AT SEVERAL BOATS I THINK YOU WILL COME TO THE SAME CONLUSION.
THIS PICTURE OF MY NEW RIDE WAS TAKEN TODAY, RIGGING TO START TOMORROW.

cheezpanel
01-29-2004, 05:56 PM
That's a great looking boat. I love the colors and lines. Not too flashy, but more classic looking.

BoatFloating
01-29-2004, 05:58 PM
Deck Boat (http://www.***boat.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=3039) But you could save about $20K and have pretty much ever upgrade there is.

OutCole'd
01-29-2004, 07:11 PM