PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Tires (3 gone in one weekend)

Lightning
03-15-2004, 05:07 PM
Well, I had three trailer tires go out in one weekend - Carslile's. I called them and they are willing to step up and replace the set, said to just send them a copy of the bill for the new tires and that they will reimburse me. So here's the question....
Should I go with a radial trailer tire or a bias-ply? What do you like and why?

jbtrailerjim
03-15-2004, 05:46 PM
I've alway's run radial's on my trailer's and have never had a problem. I'm not a tire expert and I'm not sure of the pro's & con's of running one or the other. I'm not sure if this is a good comparison but I work in the trucking industry and I do know that about 99% of the semi truck-trailers you see on the road are running radial's.

GBLASER
03-15-2004, 05:56 PM
There have been tons of posts about how bad the carlisle tires are. Carlisle seems to have junk tires.

Lightning
03-15-2004, 06:09 PM
Originally posted by GBLASER
There have been tons of posts about how bad the carlisle tires are. Carlisle seems to have junk tires.
They had a batch that they contracted out to Goodyear to make and those are the ones with all the problems.

phuggit
03-15-2004, 06:24 PM
Jeez, me too.
I just posted the same question over at RRL. I had two blow out on the way home Saturday afternoon. When I checked the other two, I noticed the treads were seperated and the tires were all out of shape.
Lightning
What was the number to contact Carlisle?

shadow
03-15-2004, 07:19 PM
Had the same problem with carslile tire tires as many of us have.