PDA

View Full Version : Compression ratio and detonation.

Snowboat
10-13-2001, 12:13 PM
I'm surprised I haven't found this forum before but I 'm glad I did. I see why the usage of Az-don's v drive forum has gone down. I'm new to blowers and I have a few questions. I'm running an 18 foot Biesemeyer V drive at 4400 feet elevation. The engine is a 461 BB Chevy with 4 bolt, steel crank, Bowtie signature heads with 2.250 and 1.88 valves, solid roller cam, .680 and .698 lift, roller rockers. The carbs are 4150 750's jetted fat. The blower is a 6-71 big bore at 10% over. The timing is 28 degrees. The block water temperature is 100 to 135 degrees. When I'm putting along the vacuum is 2 or 3. When I romp on her the boost goes to 12 to 15. Because of the fear factor and the location of the guage down by the v drive, near the passenger seat, I don't know if the boost stays at that level all the way up to 61-6200 rpms. I can't hear squat. I'm running AR 15 plugs with the short electode. Will they melt and missfire before serious detonation? The compression ratio is 8. I calculate the final compression ratio at 12.75 for 4400 feet @12 psi boost. I've read pump gas is good to 12.54 (from Blower Drive Service, I believe). Will I blow the sucker up? It isn't run WOT, at this time, for very long. Since it takes a good set I would like to hammer down longer, but snow is just around the corner. Thanks.

superdave013
10-13-2001, 12:39 PM
Snowboat, Glad you made it! I still stop by AZ don's now and then but it just seems to load slow and sometimes won't load at all! Kinda sad as he had a good thing going for awhile. I ran my turbo deal at 12 psi on pump gas but it was pretty close to sea level. So I am not getting in this one. I will say that the fuel is the cheapest thing in an engine and in my blown boats I ran race gas but also made lots more boost.