PDA

View Full Version : pump inspection question:

Riverat84
03-30-2006, 08:27 AM
how big of a hassle would it be for me to tear my pump apart and check the impeller/wear ring?....how long would it take?

Riverat84
03-30-2006, 08:28 AM
after seeing what happened to that guy's pump, and after that rock got stuck inbetween my blades, i would love to check it out....thanx
Reid

IMPATIENT 1
03-30-2006, 11:15 AM
Depending On What Type Pump You Have, It Usuallly Takes Me @30 Minutes To Tear Down My 12je Berk.even If You Take The Bowl Off,ya Still Gotta Pull The Impellor To Check Wear Ring Surface.this Requires Special Tools And A Bunch Of Four Letter Words!its Not Hard, But I Have Access To The Rite Tools For The Job Too.if You've Never Done It Or Don't Have Alot Of Time With Wrenches,take It To Your Nearest Pump Professional.its Cheaper To Pay Somebody To Do It Rite Than Try Yourself And Damage A Suction Housing,impellor,shaft,etc..

El Prosecutor
03-30-2006, 11:23 AM
I am a newb, but went from zero knowledge to a successful complete rebuild in the last few months. If you are just pulling the bowl and impeller it is a piece of cake, especially if nobody has gotten carried away with silicone (or other adhesive/sealant goop) on the transom adapter. Easy afternoon job if you study the diagram and plan ahead.
12JC:
http://www.***boat.com/image_center/data/500/3252Berkeley_12Jc_Drawing.jpg
If you are just inspecting impeller and wear ring you can unhook the control cables and leave everything else in place. Remove the transom adapter, unbolt the bowl from the suction housing, and pull the whole bowl assembly off in one piece. Remove the impeller nut and pull the impeller. I have read that like anything else mechanical some impellers can get seized etc. and are harder to pull than others; mine was easy. Good luck!!

Riverat84
03-30-2006, 11:30 AM