PDA

View Full Version : Got Alcohol?

blown540flattie
07-19-2002, 11:16 PM
I need a little help. I am have been building a blown bbc motor. I have a couple of questions on the spark and injection setup. Here are the specs on the engine, bbc 540, 11.5-1, 14/71, bird hat w/port setup and msd mag. The motor hasn't been assembled completely yet. What is the pully ratio, timing, spark plug and gap that I should start with. I am a little new to this and i nedd a base line to start from. Thanks for any input!

Fiat48
07-28-2002, 05:32 PM
I'll try to help but need more info. When you say pulley ratio..I assume you mean drive ratio for the blower. I am going to assume this is a "lake boat". A 14 is so big and pumps so much air that I would think 1 to 1 (or straight up) drive would be plenty for you. Timing is 34 degrees no matter what you run. Locked out distributor (no advance) is best. Less than 34 degrees causes exhaust temperature to rise at a rapid rate. More than 34 you run risk of hurting parts. I am speaking from experience here. :o
Sparks plug gap depends on ignition system. Magneto's like .018 to .020 gap due to weak spark at cranking speeds. But I have never run the MSD so somebody else may know. I hear they are very powerfull so you may be able to run wider gaps than Mallory or Vertex mags.

HighRoller
07-31-2002, 12:00 AM
This may sound like a stupid question,but is that 11.5-1 the static compression ratio?If so,and your turning a 14-71 blower you might want to consult a professional engine builder on the boost and injector setup.I'm no expert but you might end up with 14 or 15-1 final comp ratio and that is no picnic especially on a mechanically injected engine.VERY tempermental.Is this going in a pleasure boat???

Fiat48
08-06-2002, 09:54 PM