PDA

View Full Version : are these good parts at a fair price?

502procharger
08-16-2002, 02:11 PM
check out this e-bay link and let me know what you guys think. i have a basicly stock 502, with a procharger and was thinking of upgraiding to a 540. i want a motor i can spin in the high 5000's with no trouble.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/ebayISAPI.dll?MfcISAPICommand=ViewItem&item=1850732351&indexURL=0&photoDisplayType=2

Heatseeker
08-16-2002, 03:28 PM
I recently bought a bottom end set up for a project blower motor. I went with a 4 " Callie's crank, Manley rods, Clevite 77 H series bearings, SRP's, Total Seal rings, all with internal balancing. With shipping it was just over $2300. So I guess $1725 isn't too bad. But I would ask around about the Eagle crank and rods. I was told that their cranks can be of questionable quality (just what I was told, I have no experience of my own with Eagle).
You probably aren't going to want the domed pistons for your procharged engine either, are you?

502procharger
08-16-2002, 04:10 PM
my problem is i do not know what i need. they offer the kit with standard(not domed) pistons. i want to build a motor i can run pretty hard and still be somewhat reliable. any ideas on what to do abou heads?

Heatseeker
08-16-2002, 04:57 PM
I don't think you'll need the domed slugs, that's for sure. I think the most you want to go for a supercharged pump gas motor is somewhere around 8.5:1. I will end up somewhere around 8.3:1 depending on how my heads turn out.
I went with the Callie's crank for the same reason you stated, reliability. Make sure that the Eagle stuff is American made. I don't know where they are coming from and I couldn't find an Eagle website for any info. I've heard nothing but bad stuff about all the Chinese(cheap) parts flooding the market right now. That's how I ended up going with Callie's "Dragonslayer" crank (Callie's answer to the Chinese invasion).