PDA

View Full Version : Ball Valve and exhaust?

Jetdriver
05-06-2004, 06:05 AM
http://www.***boat.com/image_center/data/500/398Boat_shots_009-med.jpg
I borrowed this photo so I could ask a question here, I have a similar exhaust on my boat, 454 with a berk pump. The question is, I find that the boat runs very cold since the water from the pump has no restriction flies on through the motor and dumps out the exhaust with that said, Can I install a ball valve to slow the waters pace and still have enough water running to the exhaust so that it doesnt get to hot and mess something up? Ill post a pic or 2 of my exact setup later!

shaun
05-06-2004, 07:25 AM
I'm no expert but i'll take a crack at it...
I think most people installe a preasure regulator to help control this problem. Also, your plumbing size may affect this as well.

OMEGA_BUBBLE_JET
05-06-2004, 08:08 AM
make sure you put the valve on the inlet to the motor and not the discharge. putting a restriction on the discharge can cause water pressure in the block to rise leading to gasket failure and water in the oil. I would suggest a valve at the discharge of the pump. have the discharge be as free flowing and open as possible. hope this helps.
Omega

PLACECRAFT20
05-06-2004, 08:33 AM
I WAS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH LIGHTNING HEADERS. I BOUGHT THE REXMARINE THERMOSTAT KIT. THE MOTOR NOW RUNS BETWEEN 150 TO 160 ALL DAY. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS NOW I AM HAVING TO INSTALL A WATER BYPASS TO LOWER THE WATER PRESSURE IN THE BLOCK.

LakesOnly
05-06-2004, 08:34 AM
Yeah, place a gate valve just inside the transom, just aft of the pump and before the line put water to your motor. Begin to close slowly until you see the your water temp rise.