PDA

View Full Version : Adding a blower, What kinda trouble?

Stupid Fast
12-23-2002, 07:14 AM
I am considering a new(or new to me boat). I have no experience with blowers. I am considering a 6.2 with a whipple or procharger. The websites make them seem bolt on. Are they really? I can tackle most projects myself, I just have no experience with forced induction.
P.S. Can the 6.2 hold up?
Eric

HM
12-23-2002, 08:44 AM
That is a great question, and the answer is maybe, sometimes. smile_sp
What do you want to accomplish?

Stupid Fast
12-23-2002, 08:51 AM
Around 500 horse to start. As everyone knows go up from there.

HM
12-23-2002, 10:18 AM
How do you plan to use it?
WOT all the time?
An occasional need for speed?
Somewhere in between?

Blown 472
12-23-2002, 11:01 AM
Do you have low enough comp for it? what is the curve on your dist?

Stupid Fast
12-23-2002, 11:50 AM
Blown, It would be on a stock 6.2 mercruiser (I dont own one yet).
HolyMoly, I would do a little of all. I like speed runs, skiing, and High speed tubeing. In other words, yes I would definetly get into the throtle.
Thanks All
Eric

HM
12-23-2002, 02:54 PM
You can try to bolt on the systems (pretty easy for carburated applications) with a 3-4 lbs boost set up without any other mods. If you go higher than that, you would want to consider changing compression ration, connecting rods, while your at it, forged pistons and heck, throw in a cam.
I know a few guys using 7 lbs boost on stock motors and getting away with it. Others have not been so lucky. The other thing to consider is that if the outdrive can handle the new power. If you are on a budget, then I would reccomend a 3-4 lbs set up for now, and when you get the budget, you can go for more HP done properly. I speak from experience!!! My most expensive mistakes have been when I was on a budget and chose a cheaper route.
So my answer is a definite maybe!!

SteveDavid
12-23-2002, 06:50 PM
Eric,