PDA

View Full Version : C-500 Oil Leak ?

Tom Foolery
05-24-2004, 07:10 AM
I have disconnected my prop shaft on the Howard this weekend & I noticed that the v-drive unit appeared to be leaking oil. Since I'm new with v-drives & I don't have the v-drive breakdown in front of me I'll try to explain it the best I can.
Once I unbolt the prop shaft there is a nut and washer that holds on the flange that the prop shaft bolts up to. This flange slides over the spline coming out of the v-drive. It appears that oil is leaking out past the washer & nut that hold the flange on spline. It makes sense that the spline would have oil on it from the v-drive but it appears that the only means of sealing the oil in the unit is the washer. It looks like someone had tried to use silicone to seal around the washer in the past but I'm not sure if this was just a bandaid on a bigger problem.
There is another piece which bolts to the v-drive case that has a seal to keep oil from leaking & this seems to be sealing well.
Does this sound right?

Big Mac
05-24-2004, 08:52 AM
Tom: If the V-drive is OVER FILLED it will leak there. Is the a dip stick on the vee drive? It doesn't hold alot of gear oil. Big Mac

Tom Foolery
05-24-2004, 09:03 AM
That would be interesting if it was over filled & there is no dipstick.
I was going to change the oil in the unit last week. When I took the fill and drain plug out I was expecting oil to flow out of the drain plug, however nothing came out. I assumed that the v-drive had leaked and was now out of oil. Now the drain plug is not at the very bottom of the C-500 but it is fairly low.
If it is indeed overfilled then how do you drain the v-drive?

Jordy
05-24-2004, 09:27 AM