PDA

View Full Version : Question

Drakar
05-24-2004, 11:42 AM
Hello all
I rebuild my SBC (355) and upgraded the following components:
Lightening Headers and Straight exhaust (had factory exhaust system thru prop)
Pro Magnum Rocker Arms (1.6 ratio) (had factory rockers)
Water Crossover with bypass/t-Stat
Superchiller for B&M 144 Blower
MSD Marine Distributor
MSD 6M2 Ignition
MSD Soft Touch Rev Control,
MSD Blaster Coil
MSD Wires
We modified the distributor to: "1 light silver" and "1 light blue" springs and bushing to "silver". I believe this represents 25 degrees of advance all in by 3300 RPM. Please let me know your thoughts on timing...any info would be helpful (I'm still learning...)
After a few cranks (getting fuel to the carb), it fired right up and idled. We set the timing to 6 degrees initial advance at 725RPM. Increasing the RPM to 2300 and letting it set for about 25-35 secs...the engine would just shut off (like it ran out of fuel). I would crank it for a few secs and it would fire right up and idle. I'm thinking it may be the fuel pump. I have been using a high output mechanical pump (110GPH) for the past three years....I'm thinking it may not be flowing enough fuel to the carb bowls. (maybe at high RPMs, it depletes the bowls and the pump can not refill them quick enough).
I checked to make sure the fuel lines were not pinched and removed the fuel filter (in case, it was clogged) and the issue still exists.
Or maybe the issue is with the new ignition system?
Look forward to your replies
Thanks!

HP350SC
05-24-2004, 10:05 PM
Both 144 350's we built ran best with the black bushing. 10 deg. initial, all in at 2500 and 30-31 total on 92 octane. What's your static comp. ratio and how much boost?