PDA

View Full Version : I spun out!!!

Commander460
05-27-2004, 07:10 AM
Hey guys; I'm a newbie
I just bought a 1987 commander thats 19'. It has a 460 and a berkley jet. I took it to the lake yesterday for the first time. All went OK except for the fact I spun it out. I put the hammer down and at around 50mph I let off the throttle. The damn thing pulled HARD left and spun out. It felt as though the steering cable let go. But I checked everything and all was good. So I went for round two, and I was able to control it better. It seems that if I hold the steering tight, I'm ok, even though its still a little squirley.
I've had a jet boat before and it didnt behave this way. Are there any Ideas.
The jet has a place diverter, and a aluminum rudder, or scagg, whatever you call it.
Please help...

BrendellaJet
05-27-2004, 07:20 AM
That is not uncommon, although I think that 50mph is a little slow for it to happen-I may be wrong though. Basically what happens is one of two things, maybe a combination of the two:
Letting off the gas quickly/or the motor shutting down results in the boat nose diving. Depending on the hull design/water conditions, the first part of the boat to hit the water acts as a rudder steering the boat in whatever direction very violently. Many end up taking a swim when this happens-you got lucky.
Also a factor here is that upon quick deceleration/shutdown is that the pump is still packing water, but the impeller is not turning quickly enough to process all of it, the pump backs up and causes the transom to lift, dipping the nose of the boat further into the water.
You're lucky that all was okay. This will probably make you a better driver.

Commander460
05-27-2004, 08:15 AM
Thanks for your reply. Your right, it was violent. The boat started going left hard, and my correction with the steering wheel didnt help it.