PDA

View Full Version : Jet pros, why did this happen?

Danhercules
06-14-2004, 10:28 PM
My boat sunk today. After getiin it up, I found out why.
The inspection cover on the pump broke. One of the ears that bolts hold down, busted. She went down in 10 seconds it seems like.
Has any one ever seen this?
BBF, 500HP, on berk with a B. No loader, no shoe, no add ons on the pump, just some bowl work and "reworked Impeller"

Hotcrusader76
06-14-2004, 10:41 PM
WTF!!!!:eek: :eek: :eek!: :eek!:
Did ya tighten them down too much? I think it was the kick ass Ford you had mounted in that boat that twisted her silly on ya:D
Sorry to here that Dan:( ....Keep us posted on what ya find..
~Ty

LVjetboy
06-14-2004, 11:05 PM
I'm no jet pro so don't take my advice too serious. But as I've posted before, epoxy that sucker down...only way to be sure. How often do you use it to clear ski ropes etc. when it's on the inside or half-in half-out and you can't pop it and float? If on the inside and cover or flange design's that sensitive to bolt torque or o-ring alignment why bother with convenience of clearing a rope or debris? I say epoxy that sucker down and be done with it. Or not and leak the seal or maybe sink.
jer

victorfb
06-14-2004, 11:17 PM