PDA

View Full Version : Attn: Computer Geeks

Outnumbered
06-26-2004, 09:50 PM
I'm stumped on this printing problem I've been having lately. Any suggestions would be great.
I have an HP LaserJet5P that I have been using for about 5 years or so. Just recently it started having problems printing images and PDF files--the printer times out and errors before anything is printed.
I now have to go in and set the advanced settings for the 5P to "Raster" printing rather than "HP-GL/2" which is the default. This would be no big deal but I have to re-set it to Raster every time. Its a little bit of a pain. Why would this happen now and never before? Same computer for 2 years and printer for last 5 years. Did a windows update maybe change something that I didn't know about?
Thanks in advance for the help.
OL

Some Kind Of Monster
06-26-2004, 09:58 PM
Perhaps try wiping and reinstalling your HP software. This is strange indeed. I work with/on this stuff all the time. I'll do some research for you.

Outnumbered
06-26-2004, 10:03 PM
Originally posted by Some Kind Of Monster
Perhaps try wiping and reinstalling your HP software. This is strange indeed. I work with/on this stuff all the time. I'll do some research for you.
I don't think I still have the software. You are talking about the drivers? I could probably get them from HP's web site?
Thanks for the help.
OL

C-2
06-26-2004, 10:33 PM
Maybe a software problem?
There are some many damn plugins and image viewers, you have to be careful not to allow the undesirable ones to become the default viewer or program/application.
Maybe a program is defaulting you to new printer settings?
I've only ran inkjets for the past 5 years - I know if that damn cable ribbon gets dirty - it has to be cleaned with rubbing alcohol. That stupid fix has saved me countless hours of frustration.

Outnumbered
06-26-2004, 10:40 PM