PDA

View Full Version : Lasik - Who has it?

goneboatin
07-08-2004, 07:44 AM
I've been wearing contacts for about 20 years, I'm 40 years old and looking into having my eyes done. Currently my contacts are -2.50. Has any one out there had it done? Was it a pleasureable experience, were there complications? Do you now need glasses for close up and reading? Any doctors you'd reccommend? Any you'd say to stay away from?

Phat Matt
07-08-2004, 08:02 AM
I would recommend this guy.
www.drfabricant.com
They are out of Upland and he is one of the best, not the cheapest, but the best. I would stay away from those places that have the $399 and eye deal. Who want to cut corners with their eyesite? It is by far the best thing I have ever done. I can see better than I have ever been able to see before, even when I wore my contacts, because they fixed my astigmatism also. It's been a couple of years now and I have no regrets! :)

Quality Time
07-08-2004, 08:37 AM
I agree with Phat Matt, avoid the "deals" You only have one set of peeps. Go to a reputable doctor. I had it done four years ago and could not be happier. I ended up with better than 20 -20. No issues during or after the procedure. Took longer to fill out the paper work than the procedure itself.
Good Luck in your decision:cool:

Trash
07-08-2004, 08:42 AM
What is your goal? Is it to NOT wear glasses or contacts? If so, you might want to reconsider as you will need reading glasses. You are approaching the age where you're eyes begin to change and reading glasses will become a larger part of your life. Lasik will do nothing to correct that.

TrojanDan
07-08-2004, 08:47 AM
Originally posted by goneboatin
Currently my contacts are -2.50. Has any one out there had it done?