PDA

View Full Version : ultra boats

thom
07-08-2004, 03:01 PM
Im looking at a 247 ultra with a 496 ho w/ a procharger. Any comments about this combo would be appreciated? Good or bad.
Im fairly new to boating but im thinking its a good deal at 40k.

Boat Loan Guy
07-08-2004, 03:05 PM
Is that price new or on a used boat?

thom
07-08-2004, 03:06 PM
used ..its an 01. is this a good deal? Nada books it out at 52k

RiverToysJas
07-08-2004, 03:14 PM
Was it originally delivered with that 496 in 2001? the first generation 496's had many issues, and I know several people who had to get major work done to them, or have them replaced entirely (both truck & marine).
The Pro-Charger (I believe) uses the standard Merc ECU. Someone correct me if I'm wrong please. IF that's the case, you can take it to a Merc Authorized mechanic and they can plug it in and tell you EVERYTHING about that motor, and how it's been run. Total time on the motor (for real, not just gauge time). What average RPM it's been running at. How much time at various RPMs (in increments of 300), how many times it's hit the rev limitor. I wouldn't buy a used boat with that motor, w/o having that checked first. BUT, since this boat is Procharged, that data might not be available, I'm not sure.
If it's clean, and all what it seems, it sounds like a good deal. I LOVE the lines on that hull!!! :cool:
RTJas :D

thom
07-08-2004, 03:21 PM
its really clean.. it has the dana tabs, offshore controls. fresh water cooling system, digital trim . and more...
It is the orginal engine.I like the idea of having it hooked up to the computer to see exactly whats going on..
thanks for the tip.. anything else to look for?

K9Blitz
07-08-2004, 03:24 PM
Especially if you are new to boating, don't buy it until you drive it. The best case scenario would be to take it out in water conditions you plan on using it in.
Test drive a couple other similar models. Nothing beats a $40K educated decision.

thom
07-08-2004, 03:26 PM
k9