Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie ...Looking for info on Marlin Jet Boats....

TIGGER
    I bought an 18ft 73 Marlin Jet boat last week. I am new to boats so please forgive me. The person I bought it from didn't know much about it either. Could someone point me somewhere I can educate myself? I would like to know the different models of Marlins, options, history etc. Could someone please tell me the model of my boat My insurance company asked but I am not able to find much info on this boat.
    It is going to need a little work but it is all there.

That, my friend is a Marlin "Taurus"- I know, because I just completed a 2 year resto of mine! As far as info on these, it's pretty hard to come by, except that the hull bottom was copied by quite a few different boat manufacturers. I have also heard that the Marlins were built in Oregon by former Sidewinder guys, and as such are almost identical to the Sidewinders. Mine runs pretty good with a mild 455 and fresh pump- I haven't GPS'd it yet, so I don't know what my actual top speed is, but it is a blast to drive- Check your hull bottom for hook- The hook in my boat averaged 1/4-3/16" over the last 6 feet of the hull. Good luck, and post some more pics if you can.
    Stan

TIGGER
    Stan, what do you mean by "Check your hull bottom for hook- The hook in my boat averaged 1/4-3/16" over the last 6 feet of the hull"?
    I haven't brought the boat home yet. It is still sitting at the previous owners place. I will pick it up after labor day.
    I picked it up for $1200.00. The motor has been rebuilt but there is a water leak somewhere. Hopefully it is a blown headgasket or something. The guy I bought it from said it was a 455 olds but I the more I read up on them, the more it looks like it is a 350 olds. The boat appears to be pretty solid. The seats and stuff only have a couple seasons on them. Everything appears to work, lights, blower motor etc. Cosmetically it will need paint and carpet.