Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rod/Stroke Ratio

Taylorman
    I was checking out JE Pistons web sight yesterday and finally figured out how one can use different length rods with the same stroke crank. Im still learning about BBC parts. Is it better to go with longer or shorter rods.
    6.135 rods with a 4" stroke = 1.53:1 rod stroke ratio
    6.385 rods with a 4" stroke = 1.59:1 rod stroke ratio
    6.135 rods with a 4.25 stroke =1.44:1
    6.385 rods with a 4.25 stroke =1.5:1
    Whats the deal with all the choices. What difference does it make?

Lawler
    Depends on what compression you are looking for. Longer rods will give you more compression.

Taylorman
    Hows that?

revndave
    I use 4 inch stroke with.250 longer rod.Better rod angle ratio 1.6.

Infomaniac
    Rod stroke ratio has an effect on piston speed and rod angle. How long the piston dwells at TDC and BDC and how fast it accelerates away from TDC and BDC Rod angles effect how fast the pistons or rings wear. And how much stress is put on the rods at an angle rather than straight down.
    This is the age old debate that goes along with HP or Torque debates.

Nucking futs
    So what are the pros and cons?Im building a engine right now 4.25-6.385 rod with a 4.310 bore.Any benifits to running a smaller rod on this combo?I bought some childs and alberts 6.135 rods for a 100$ from my buddy brand new.HHMMMMMM this could change everything.

Taylorman
    So what are the pros and cons?Im building a engine right now 4.25-6.385 rod with a 4.310 bore.Any benifits to running a smaller rod on this combo?I bought some childs and alberts 6.135 rods for a 100$ from my buddy brand new.HHMMMMMM this could change everything.
    That combo with 6.135 rods would require a 1.52" compression height piston. Check out JE's web sight.
    http://www.jepistons.com/pdf/2002-srp-chevy.pdf
    If you decide to sell one set of rods you don't use, let me know.

IDK