Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: panther jet to a berkeley?

wrenchdaddy
    I migth be buying an 18ft Sadler jet boat in a few weeks and would like some input. It has an almost new 454 BBC with a panther jet. Im really not a panther fan but this boat has everyting else Im looking for and its the only one I've found that I like thats not in california. I just want to know if its possible to switch the panther out with a berkley jet? If so how hard would it be. Thanks a lot for the info guys, Im new to all this.

Jake W
    You can. You will have to reglass in the bottom of the hull then cut it out.Or do a set back pump and will have less to fill back in.
    Good luck.
    Jake

hack job
    it would require a bit of fiberglass and gel work the panter is simluar to a incert style pump . so you would have to remove the panther and fill all the open areas and then start over with the berkley. :hammerhea its a ton of work but is very possible. how much is it worth to you is the question. what are you looking for out of the boat if your not looking a superfast boat then i would assume that the panther would be fine , but if your looking to go fast then i would suggest the berk. it might be easier to buy one that allready has the pump your looking for . i know you said it had every thing your looking for, but it really dosent,and it has one thing you werent looking for. :wink:
    any how if you post up what type of boat your looking for some of us might be able to point you in the right direction( dont forget price range). and tell us were your at too( it helps in the search) good luck

BrendellaJet
    Make sure you know what you expect this boat to be capable of. If you dont want it to be a speed demon, why change it? There are a few forums that deal with the panther pumps, and some have reportedly gone over 85 mph. Takes lots of work though, as the panther has not and may not ever come into its own in terms of performance...