Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help With Setup

ezstriper
    JUST GOT MY 18 STARBUCK OUT FOR TESTING THIS WEEKEND, RUNNING A 468 B/B CHEV, OLD STYLE CLOSED CHAMBERED OVAL PORT HEADS, FLAT TOP PISTONS, COMP CAMS JET BOAT SPECIFIC CAM(564i 567e LIFT 278i 292e DUR.) WEIAND TUNNEL RAM W/600 EDELBROCK CARBS JETTED 3 STAGES RICH AND CHOKES REMOVED, ROLLER ROCKERS,MSD PRO BILLET DIDT DIST & 6A BOX, BASSETT OT HEADERS, BERK PUMP 12JB w/B IMPELLER, (SUPPOSALLY)PLACE DIVERTER. THE BOAT STARTS IDLES AND CRUISES GREAT ACCELS HARD BUT STOPS PULLING AT 5200, YOU CAN DETECT VERY SLIGHT POPPING FROM BACK SEAT BUT NOT FROM DRIVERS SEAT, ALMOST AS IF IT HAS A REV LIMITER, NO CHIP IN MSD BOX THAT I CAN SEE. SEEMS TO BE VERY LEAN, TOP SPEED BY SPEEDO, 60, I HAVE BEEN RESTORING THIS BOAT FOR 2 YEARS AND JUST GOT IT IN THE WATER FOR SOME SHAKEDOWN AND AM NEW TO THE JET BOAT SCENE AND WOULD LOVE SOME POINTERS WITH THIS SETUP, THANKS ROB

Sounds like you're emptying the bowls at speed. Check that your pump is maintaining adequate pressure and your fuel lines/filter aren't restricting flow.

ezstriper
    Using a H/P mech. pump shows lots of pressure 8.5 psi(thats even more than these carbs are supposed to see) but it does not have any idle or flooding issues, I have not looked at the gauge at rpm, rear seat blocks veiw from drivers seat but should be able to ck. from rear, but there is no surge or starvation feeling, more of a rev limiter feeling, Thanks Rob...

No rev limiter on the MSD 6A box, unless one is added.
    http://static.summitracing.com/globa...msd-8738_m.jpg
    Or is it the MSD 6AL box? That one will have the rev limiter in it.
    I don't know squat about Edelbrock carbs, but I'd agree with roostwear and make sure everything is square on the fuel side of the equation.
    I battled a similar issue labor day weekend and found that my back carb's (I run Holleys) float levels were off. It wasn't by much...........but still caused the problem.