Thread: Mixed Flow vs Axial Flow vs Multi-Stage...

WheelerDealer
    Okay pump gurus, walk us through the differences of each style of pump please. What are the pros and cons of each and what is each style best suited for. I was cruising the internet and found a New Zealand site where they were all running multi-stage double and triple impeller pumps that I have never even heard of before.

1978 Rogers
    I believe some of those are used for commercial applications. i.e. there is a high speed catamarn ferry that runs between Seattle & Vancover B.C. It's nozzle must be 12" inches across.

bottom feeder
    I have no clue what are you talking about? differant types of pump?
    Just my view I am no expert and have made no such claim.
    Mixed flow: By far the most popular pump here in the states. Often refered to as a pressure pump. As far as pumps go it will net you the best MPH if this is what you are looking for. Takes the most power compared to the other designs to achive it's speed. Has the slowest hole shot. More up keep in abrasive inviroment. The object is to push the water out under considerable force. This generates the high velocity jet stream. Fairly small intake face. (probably the smallest) Cost is fair, parts can be had anyware. (Berk, At, Dom and Agressor)
    Axil Flow: Less popular here in the states. Good hole shot gives up a bit on the top end. Takes less power to turn as it makes little pressure after the impeller. Damage from debris is slight. I do not know if any are still being produced. Parts are common most upgrade kits are designed to convert them to the more popular Pressure style. (jacuz, early hamilton) Just dont have much experiance with these critters.