Thread: Cavitation?

76Apollo
    I have a 1976 Apollo, a 12S Dominator Pump with an A impeller and a wedge pointing nozzle down; a 454 drives the rig. I am new to jet boats and took this one out for the first time last Saturday. When the boat comes out of the hole it acts like it's spinning its "tires" if you give it full throttle. You have to ease into it and then you can nail it in order to not have the thing spin out. Is that a cavitation problem or is it considered blowout? What could be done to the boat in order to make the boat "hook" coming out of the hole. The motor is fairly strong and turns the pump 5600 rpm at full throttle. The boat also has a tendency to slightly change directions if you nail the throttle when doing around 40 mph. Is this normal or are there any fixes for that situation? Other than the two forementioned problems the boat runs great. There is no porposing or anything of that nature. The hull rides very level and seems to be doing everything it's supposed to do. Thanks a lot for any help or suggestions that are given.

jet496
    A loader impeller should take care of it. Contact your nearest jet guru or Dons Pump Service (not sure what his web address is). He invented it for the reasons you just mentioned.

77charger
    sounds like you might be in need of a pump rebuild.your clearances sound loose.5600 with an a impeller would take alot of hp.

mach1 454
    Originally posted by 77charger:
    sounds like you might be in need of a pump rebuild.your clearances sound loose.5600 with an a impeller would take alot of hp.
    i just started having the same problem, but my pump just got rebuilt. it takes for ever off the line like the impeller is just spinning and not pushing. it just all of a sudden started doing this. please help!thanx
    mach1 454

spectras only